My Motto, and how it effects me…

     Have you ever had that one motto or saying told to you by your parents, or found while reading, you still think about all the time?  Where it made such an impact on who you are today, you wont forget it even if you tried to?  I do.  I kinda want to hear yours?

    My mom always said this to me, and I still remember it to this day. Whenever i was conflicted about my parents and didn’t understand why my pills had gone missing, and my dad would act crazy, when fights would rage on, and i was confused.  When I was scared I would grow up to be addicted to medications like him, having already been fighting addiction to my pain killers and not wanting to become my father.

 She would look me in the eyes and say to me…

“Jonathan…do you know what the difference between a good man and a bad man is? No? The difference between a good man and a bad man comes down to something as simple as….  Choice  …. everything you do in your life is a Choice…it does not matter how you were raised, or how horrible your life has been up to this point, it is up to you to Chose to change your life, to do the Right thing, not the Easy thing.  A bad man will choose to sit and destroy his life, and get mad at the world for not having things fall into his lap, he will not only crush his dreams, but the dreams of others around him… Whilst a good man will go out, and fight for who they are, and what they will believe in, they will fight for there dreams, and the dreams of others. They will earn what they need, instead of expecting it to come to them.  It is all up to you.

This has impacted my life so much.  One out of many things it has impacted me on.  Every time I go to take my pills, I secretly ask myself…

“Do I Need my pills…. or do I ‘Want‘ them?”

For the past 14 years I have spent my entire life fighting for who I am, and what I believe in, even with some people constantly doubting me, asking “Do you really need that much?” or “do you really NEED your pills right now?” Instead of folding in, giving up on my beliefs, doing the Easy thing, and giving into addiction, I know that in my heart, I will do the Right thing every time, even if others doubt me, and question my character.

 Those words constantly ringing in my head…

“Do the Right thing, not the Easy thing, it is your Choice, and your choice alone to become who you are, or who you want to become.”

Do any of you have a life altering motto like this?  One that just stuck with you, even until today?  Or one you just found, but still use it constantly?  You don’t have to answer, but I just thought I would ask. :)

A.P.T.  : Average Pain Today

1 being none at all, 5 being normal, 10 being horrendously unbelievable pain

   1       2       3        4       5       6        7       8       9       10

|–|–|–|–|–|–|–|–|–|–|–|–|||–|–|–|–|

 

- Jonathan Forrest Jagger

About neonscorpion

Well... to start, I'm a 17 year old kid/young adult who has lived with systemic juvenile idiopathic arthritis, also known as stills disease, since I was 3 years old. My life is confined to the living rolling hell of a half-running wheelchair, a normal day for me would be, get up at around 12:00 pm, have someone put me in wheelchair, go to computer, take 8 pills (not exaggerating), do either art or play flash games on computer, take 5 more pills, watch sisters come home from school at 3:30 pm, look at e-mail or deviantart, take 3 pills, do random crap, eat diner, take 8 pills, get back on computer, take 2 pills, stay up till 4 or 5:00 in the morning, wake up mom, mom puts me in bed...repeat... So, as you can see, my like f'ing sucks right now... I feel alone, and on top of it all I have FOUR sisters ranging from 18 years old, to 2...and have 2 step brothers who barely come over, my biological fathers..... dead to me, and my mother just broke up with my step dad...I'm going to blog every night about each day... I hope some one out there can help me... help me not feel so alone in this ever crushing world... View all posts by neonscorpion

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

